Precipice Preparation

If you can’t anticipate a precipice, be prepared to land on your head. I’ve grown up believing that a precipice is a high before a fall. For me, I’ve always seen an abyss at the end of a precipice. I usually gravitate to the Middle Way (as in the Tao) — no super highs, but no downer lows, either.  Have you been raised not to get your hopes up? Does caution and height aversion still serve? If the answer is yes, join me in learning to rise above our habitual precipice aversion. We can start by anticipating an adventure from a safe distance. We can imagine falling down, and getting back up again. No risk, no gain, no falls, no pain. I’d like to tackle that tall precipice, but in the meantime, I’ll start by climbing some short hills.

 

About sheilaklewis

As a writing coach, meditation teacher, writer, and academic tutor, I'm passionate about words and the silent spaces between words. In this context, I run book clubs and writers' groups where the resonance of carefully crafted words can spark readers and writers to share their own stories. Connecting through conversation; making memories matter; embracing editing and revision, and imaginative wordplay are some solo and collective outcomes. I came to what I call my "Meditate Write Now" practice after years of art-making, writing grants, curriculum, children's stories, and more. Meditation kept my mind from meandering too far off point and also led me to write from the still point within. May our paths cross in creative journeys across time and internet connections! Other details: My husband and I are the parents of two amazing sons and one daughter-in-law, and smitten grandparents of Micah (born December, 2013). I don't drive, and have lived in the same apartment on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, for too long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Precipice Preparation

  1. Lia Brigante says:

    That’s good advice, Sheila, I appreciated it.

  2. sheilaklewis says:

    Lia, great to hear from you! You can do the word prompts on WordPress, and that was word of day. Take are and jump with caution.

Leave a Reply

