Pause on the pavement

I’m going to wake up and write a short piece every day for 30 days; my writing buddy in Duluth is going to do the same. I invite you to join the challenge. Write for 15 minutes, three pages, whatever you like. Aim for a new observation, something fresh. A conversation overheard, the evening light casting a gauzy shadow over the street, the city waking up to a symphony of trucks. Go cultural, what exciting play, movie, exhibit, or event did you “lose” and find yourself in?What are you reading? Pause on the pavement and take note.

Today on Broadway and 90th st. I bumped into lovely Ella in her stroller. She was with her mom, Lauren, a friend of my daughter-in-law Lauren. Together we bought bargain-priced healthy cereal at the store. Ella showed no signs of jet lag, despite having just flown back from Israel. I’m glad we had that pause together, as they are moving to Bayside in a few weeks.

I like to write after a walk or meditation. When do you write?

About sheilaklewis

As a writing coach, meditation teacher, writer, and academic tutor, I'm passionate about words and the silent spaces between words. In this context, I run book clubs and writers' groups where the resonance of carefully crafted words can spark readers and writers to share their own stories. Connecting through conversation; making memories matter; embracing editing and revision, and imaginative wordplay are some solo and collective outcomes. I came to what I call my "Meditate Write Now" practice after years of art-making, writing grants, curriculum, children's stories, and more. Meditation kept my mind from meandering too far off point and also led me to write from the still point within. May our paths cross in creative journeys across time and internet connections! Other details: My husband and I are the parents of two amazing sons and one daughter-in-law, and smitten grandparents of Micah (born December, 2013). I don't drive, and have lived in the same apartment on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, for too long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pause on the pavement

  1. sheilaklewis says:

    Reblogged this on sheilaklewis and commented:

    Join us for a 30 day writing challenge. For details, see my blog “Pause on the Pavement,” posted july 13. sheilaklewis.wordpress.com

  2. Carol A. says:

    Hi, Sheila,
    I’m intrigued with this 30 day challenge. I’ve been procrastinating on memoir writing, promising myself to sit down for an hour a day, pick a prompt and write, maybe this will help. And on ‘mental health breaks’ — just sitting and reading with a nosh and a cup of tea or coffee nearby helps; reading novels and poetry. My work to ‘break from’ for the next few weeks will be paper de-cluttering for a shredding event. Wish me luck!

    • sheilaklewis says:

      Hi Carol, so glad you wrote. I am with you. It is sometimes hard to pick a time and commit to writing. Making it pleasant, a cup of tea, etc. is definitely a help. Also after meditating or reading something inspiring. Having accountability, like a challenge or knowing someone else is writing, really can boost momentum. I am planning to post a few prompts and there are some already posted. The main thing is finding something of interest to you and a reader, to write about. And there are myriad interesting things, memories and observations, to focus on. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

