Growing Into Affirmations

If you have been “on the path” since the ‘70’s, doing affirmations, taking self-help courses, visioning or positive thinking your way out of all negative situations life has to offer, and are the first on your block to buy the latest “New Age” bestseller, I ask, “So, how’s that been going for you?”

I say this as your fellow traveler on the path to enlightenment, my first millions, or both, by about 1984. However, though I am not a full-blown “positive thinker,” I am also not giving up completely on getting everything I want and having all my dreams manifest or or on creating a better world for my yet unborn grandchildren.

I have done some deep thinking about the “positive affirmations” issue. Simply stated, I’ve been on the wrong track, trying to welcome success into my life with full-blown positivity, passion, and optimism, ignoring my true nature as a non-enthusiast. Let me explain. When my well-meaning friends in valiant attempts to advise me, ask, Well, what are you excited about, where’s your passion, I freeze.

I mean, the things that excite me don’t normally bring about self-actualization or an inflated bank account. For example, I’m excited about brewing a perfect cup of tea, but don’t have the business chops to start a chain of tea salons or fancy brews to rival Starbuck’s. And I’m passionate about clean floors. Give me a mop and some lavendar-scented, environmentally-friendly cleaning product after a long day trying to find my Passion Muse, and I’m happy to mop about the apartment.

I have nothing against excessively positive people. In fact, I’ve been married to one for over 35 years. What I have come to realize is that, just as there are glass half-empty and glass half-full people, there are people who will do what they love and succeed at it and there are people who will do what they can stand to do and grow to love it, or at least, like it more than anything else. 

 

About sheilaklewis

As a writing coach, meditation teacher, writer, and academic tutor, I'm passionate about words and the silent spaces between words. In this context, I run book clubs and writers' groups where the resonance of carefully crafted words can spark readers and writers to share their own stories. Connecting through conversation; making memories matter; embracing editing and revision, and imaginative wordplay are some solo and collective outcomes. I came to what I call my "Meditate Write Now" practice after years of art-making, writing grants, curriculum, children's stories, and more. Meditation kept my mind from meandering too far off point and also led me to write from the still point within. May our paths cross in creative journeys across time and internet connections! Other details: My husband and I are the parents of two amazing sons and one daughter-in-law, and smitten grandparents of Micah (born December, 2013). I don't drive, and have lived in the same apartment on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, for too long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Growing Into Affirmations

  1. Kathleen says:

    Great blog! The positives need to be more understanding of the non-enthusiasts.

  2. Margarita says:

    There is a difference between positives and non-enthusiasts…and it’s good to remember they’re not mutually exclusive: one can be both! Nice post, Sheila! xoM

  3. renee says:

    Too often, too many give up. This is a wonderful thought to keep us on the path. Thanks Sheila.

    • sheilaklewis says:

      Yes, Renee, giving up is easy and we are often tempted. Something has to keep us going, even in the face of un-surmountable challenges. So, do whatever it takes! Thanks for the reminder, Sheila

Leave a Reply

